My Brilliant Career

by Miles Franklin

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

Sybylla is the epitome of an Aussie Battler!

What started as an idyllic if tough childhood, changed when her father decided to chase dreams beyond his abilities. When the family’s circumstances change to beyond desperate, Sybylla is sent to live with her grandmother and an aunt, before her mother decides to virtually enslave Sybylla to pay one of Sybylla’s fathers debtors.

But there is a solution.

I loved this story and the only reason this wasn’t a 5★ read is the incident where Sybylla lashes out and hits her suitor Harry across the face with a riding crop. Harry has done nothing to deserve treatment like that. I don’t think I have ever felt more sorry for a hero in a novel.

Harry loves Syb (as he calls her) – I did want to ask, “Why?”

Nonetheless, I did admire Sybylla’s fierce and brave spirit, her ambition and desire for an independent life. I liked her!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started